Virtual Semi-Annual Meeting

This meeting is being planned for Monday, April 11th, 2016, from 11:00-16:00 EDT, at REUNA, Santiago, Chile (12:00 NOON to 5:00 pm CLT).


The SAACC is now in its 7th year and serves not only to provide input and advice to the AmLight PI and the Steering Committee on program and network needs, but also as a venue for coordinating the needs of these astronomical projects and institutions to improve their resource planning and implementation of operational connections between these distant facilities and users in the continental US and Latin-American Countries.

REUNA will also support virtual participation through video conferencing systems using REUNA’s MCU. If you plan to participate in the meeting virtually, please review the Video Conferencing information below.

Corresponding time zones (start time): 

Santiago (Chile): 11:00:00 AM – UTC-3 Hours
Miami (U.S.A.): 10:00:00 AM EDT – UTC-4 Hours
Rio de Janeiro (Brazil): 11:00:00 AM BRT – UTC-3 Hours
Berlin (Germany): 4:00:00 PM CEST – UTC+2 Hours

Video Conference Information:

Please download  Vidyo Software from here.
For detailed instructions on how to install and connect click here.

If you like to test your equipment on April 4th, 11:00am- 12:00pm EDT, or on April 6th 10:00am-11:00am, please email Pablo Rivas privas@reuna.cl. (Phone: +56 2 2337 0382, +56 2 2337 0340)

Connection Information :
Connection Link, PIN and Room ID will be emailed to each confirmed participant directly from REUNA 30 min before the  time of the meeting. If you have confirmed your participation and didn’t receive the e-mail, please check your spam or junk mail folders for email from servicios@reuna.cl.


Preliminary Agenda

Monday, April 11, 11:00AM
Welcome Remarks and Introduction –
Chris Smith, SAACC Chair and Julio Ibarra, AmLight PI
Download presentation

Session I: Science Requirements & Activities Updates
11:20 – AURA (Chris Smith, Ronald Lambert) Download presentation
11:40 – NRAO (David Halstead, Mark Lacy) Download Presentation
12:00 – ALMA (Giorgio Filippi -ESO, C.Saldias, N.Ovando -JAO/ADC) Download Presentation
12:20 – LSST (Jeffrey Kantor) Download Presentation
12:40 – Open Discussion/ Coordination

13:00 – Lunch Break (30 min)

Session II: Providers updates
13:30 – AmLight1: Network, Utilization, LSST end-to-end project (Humberto Galiza) Download Presentation
13:50 – AmLight2: 100G Network upgrade status, AtlanticWave-SDX, Monet submarine cable (Jeronimo Bezerra & Chip Cox) Download Presentations:  Network Upgrade, AtlanticWave-SDX, Monet Cable
14:10 – REUNA (Sandra Jaque) Download Presentation
14:30 – RNP (Iara Machado, Alex Moura) Download Presentation 
14:50 – RedCLARA ( Floriencio Utreras) Download Presentation
15:10 – ANSP, OpenWave Project (Luis Lopez)
15:30 – Open Discussion/Coordination Download Presentation

16:00 – Adjourn